, , , ,

Congratulations to Blogtest winner Michael Gossett!

That’s right! Hundreds of you came out and voted (thank you for that), and America has spoken: Michael Gossett is the winner of the first ever Washington Square Blogtest! Michael wins a subscription to Washington Square and a free submission to the 2012 Washington Square Awards. Well done, Michael!

Speaking of the awards, our second order of business is to announce the judges for this year’s contest! So, without further ado, here they are:

Poetry  Judge: Marie Howe

Marie Howe’s most recent book, The Kingdom of Ordinary Time was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her other collections of poetry include What the Living Do and The Good Thief, which was selected by Margaret Atwood for the 1987 National Poetry Series. Her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Poetry, Agni, Ploughshares, and Harvard Review. Her honors include National Endowment for the Arts and Guggenheim fellowships.

Fiction judge: Darin Strauss

Darin Strauss is the author of four novels, including the international bestseller Chang and Eng, the New York Times Notable Book The Real McCoy, More Than it Hurts You. His latest book, a memoir, Half a Life, won the National Book Critics Circle Award. His work has been translated into fourteen language, and has appeared on multiple Best Book of the Year lists. He’s also the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Flash Fiction Judge:  Jim Shepard

Jim Shepard is the author of six novels and four short story collections, including Like You’d Understand, Anyway, which won the Story Prize in 2008, and was nominated for a National Book Award in 2007. His novel Project X won the 2005 Massachusetts Book Award. Shepard’s work has been published in McSweeney’sGrantaThe Atlantic MonthlyEsquireHarper’sThe New YorkerThe Paris ReviewPloughsharesTriquarterly, and Playboy.

About the 2012 Washington Square Awards

Submissions to the contest are open as of this morning, via the Washington Square online submission system, which you can access by clicking here and following the instructions. Submissions close on March 8th. The winners from all three genres will receive a $500 prize and publication in Washington Square. The submission fee is $10 — a paltry sum compared to what you stand to win (particularly for Michael Gossett)!