, , ,

the 2013 Washington Square Awards

The deadline for the 2013 Washington Square Awards is March 15, 2013. The winners from all three genres (poetry, fiction, and flash) will receive a $500 prize and publication in Washington Square. The submission fee is $10 and comes with a FREE year-long subscription to Washington Square Review.  Submit online or by mail.

Poetry  Judge: Matthea Harvey

Matthea Harvey has published three collections of poetry, most recently Modern Life, which was a finalist for the 2007 National Book Critics Circle Award and was named a Notable Book by The New York Times. She has served as the poetry editor of American Letters & Commentary as well as a contributing editor to jubilat and BOMB. She earned her B.A. from Harvard University and her M.F.A. from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. She currently lives in Brooklyn and teaches at Sarah Lawrence College.

Fiction judge: Karen Russell

Karen Russell is the author of a short story collection, St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves and a novel, Swamplandia!, which was a finalist for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. She has been named one of the “5 under 35” by the National Book Foundation, and her stories have appeared in The Best American Short StoriesThe New Yorker and Zoetrope. She received her MFA from Columbia University in 2006.

Flash Fiction Judge:  Shane Jones

Shane Jones lives in upstate New York. His first novel, Light Boxes, was originally published by Publishing Genius Press and reprinted by Penguin in 2010. Light Boxes has been translated in seven languages and was named an NPR best book of the year. This year, Penguin released his new novel, Daniel Fights A Hurricane. Shane is also the author of the novella The Failure Six.